The Association for Computer Aided Design in Architecture has announced the recipients of the 2017 Awards for Excellence.

Lightfold by IwamotoScott Architecture
Lightfold by IwamotoScott Architecture

This year, the Design Excellence Award has been given to Thomas Heatherwick, the founder and design director of Heatherwick Studio. Heatherwick, who has been described by Paul Goldberger as the 21st-Century Eames, is known for his multi-disciplinary approach that pushes the limits of possibilities and results in fresh and unexpected designs.

The Digital Practice Award of Excellence has been given to founders of IwamotoScott Architecture, Lisa Iwamoto and Craig Scott. Their practice, founded in 2002 and based in San Francisco,  is committed to pursuing architecture as a form of applied design research.

The Society Award of Excellence has been given to Bob Martens, an associate professor at TU Wien. He teaches spatial simulation and computer aided architectural design. He has been involved in review activities for all world-wide CAAD-associations and has published over 140 conference and journal papers.

The Innovative Research Award of Excellence has been given to Wesley McGee, the cofounder of Matter Design and an assistant professor at the University of Michigan Taubman College of Architecture. His research and teaching agenda focuses on developing new connections between design, engineering, materials, and process as they relate to the built environment through the creation of customized software and fabrication tools.

And lastly, the Teaching Award of Excellence has been given to Heather Roberge, who has recently been named Chair of the UCLA Department of Architecture and Urban Design. Roberge is a designer and educator whose work investigates the spatial, structural, and atmospheric potential that digital technologies have on the theory and practice of building.